Ladies Night

Fill in for No Pants

Hosted by Tess Lawley

Sunday 26th of Jan

on Triple R

Listen On Demand here

 

This was the summer of RRR for me! I pushed the buttons for Smart Arts, I hosted and produced a few episodes of Room With A View, I whacked a graveyard in there and then THIS! I got to fill in for Sara Savage (actually I was filling in for her other fill in, but I filled in nonetheless!) for No Pants Radio, hand-picking tracks by female artists for two hours. It was great!

I found after surveying my CD collection that I didn’t have a whole lot of purist lady tunes, which led me to play on the theme a little bit (and to say a swear on the radio), playing a range of tracks, including a few involving the Melbourne music lady who consistently leaves me in awe, Steph Hughes (see below).

To be truthful, one of the reasons I wanted to go on the radio was the simple excitement of building a playlist that other people might listen to and enjoy, and doing this fill really reminded me of that. It would seem that thinking about the flow of a playlist, the links in sound and spirit of certain tracks, and trying to build a conversation with the listener through music is still a really exciting part of radio for me!

Leave a comment